Question: How do Navy rates work?

In the United States Navy, a rate is the military rank of an enlisted sailor, indicating where an enlisted sailor stands within the chain of command, and also defining ones pay grade. However, in the U.S. Navy, only officers carry the term rank, while it is proper to refer to an enlisted sailors pay grade as rate.

What rates are there in the Navy?

The United States Navys original ratings include, Masters Mate, Captains Clerk, Boatswains Mate, Cockswain, Sail-Makers Mate, Gunners Mate, Yeoman of the Gun Room, Quarter-Gunner, Carpenters Mate, Armorer, Steward, Cooper, Master-at-Arms, and Cook.

Officers in the Navy Corps are in charge of the administration, operation, and protection of Navy property. The Navy Corps provides a number of career paths that offer opportunities in both active duty and reserves.

7 Navy Jobs That No Longer Exist

They also provide educational assistance to those who qualify. Navy Ranks — Enlisted Sailors Enlisted sailors are divided into three categories: Apprenticeships E-1 through E-3non-commissioned Petty Officers E-4 through E-6and senior non-commissioned Chief Petty Officers E-7 through E-9.

The E1 should expect to obtain an occupational field, otherwise known as a rate, which falls under five main categories: Seamen, Firemen, Constructionmen, Airmen, or Hospitalmen. Seaman Apprentice E-2 Navy Ranks — Seaman Apprentice E-2 Once a rate is assigned, a Seaman recruit becomes a Seaman Apprentice. While it provides opportunities for Seamen Recruits to receive training and experience in a particular occupational field as they progress through their Navy careers, E2 is still considered as a junior-enlisted rank, and the role is similar to that of the E1.

Promotion will come when the sailor has completed six months of service determined by job performance and standing record of exemplary service. Seaman E-3 Seaman is the third-lowest enlisted rank before promotable Petty Officer. All basic qualifications are met.

Navy Officer Ranks

Their competency around the ship means more job responsibilities including essential maintenance and watchstanding. Petty Officer 3rd Class E-4 Sailors who reach junior Petty Officer have made it to the Fleet. The E4 maintains regular labor duties, but much of what is learned in training now shifts into leadership roles. E4s should be self-sufficient leaders and begin mentoring junior sailors. Qualifying for extra-duty assignments above the standard job specifications, called Collateral Duties, are the key to progressing in their career.

Collateral Duties How do Navy rates work? either be service-related or specialized duties for example, command career counselor, command equal opportunity coordinator,… Petty Officer 2nd Class E-5 The E5 is considered a mid-grade Petty Officer.

They are supposed to be self-reliant leaders and do not need much oversight from their seniors. Leadership skills improve with years of experience, and those who are selected for C-School obtain technical expertise at their rate, much like studying for certification.

Petty Officer 1st Class E-6 Petty Officer 1st Class is considered as a high-grade Petty Officer. The E6 has a leadership part in a Division team, a smaller group within a Department that includes 5-50 sailors For example, Work Center Supervisor.

They delegate tasks and handle the most complex tasks. Some responsibilities consist of managing more significant resources, such as expensive technical equipment, repair shop personnel, and large How do Navy rates work? sections. Sailors will hold the same regard to Chiefs as they do with Officers. They work in conjunction with the Division Officer, taking care of personnel and equipment issues. Senior Chief Petty Officer E-8 At this rank, the Senior Chief commands a higher level of technical and managerial expertise.

They are considered as the senior technical supervisor within a rating. Their duties adapt according How do Navy rates work? the needs of the Chief of Naval Operations and Chief of Naval Personnel. Navy Officers Ranks Warrant Officers Warrant Officers are Navy Officers who are Navy enlisted specialists in a particular field of work like in their technical expertise.

There are currently 27 designated specialties e. Service members have at least 14 years of considerable leadership and technical experience prior to applying for the program. While deployed at sea, they assure the maintenance of equipment and ensure communication throughout the chain of command. Other roles like Naval Warrant Officers take part as an executive, Division, and commanding officers.

A warrant is the only way a candidate can receive this rank. This Navy Corps Rank is unlike any other. Serving in the Navy for a long time with leadership experience, experts on Navy tradition and customs are eligible to join this rank of Warrant Officer. Advancement depends on vacancies and grade seniority or years of experience.

The majority of Ensigns attend schools to learn their jobs; others serve in the Fleet as Divisions Officers.

Promotion can come anywhere from weeks to two years depending upon the ability to lead Division. Lieutenant, Junior Grade O-2 Navy Ranks — Lieutenant, Junior Grade O-2 A Lieutenant, Junior Grade, which is the second-lowest officer rank, is a Navy officer who ranks between Ensign and Lieutenant. An O2 may be in training for their specialty or serve in the Fleet as Division Officers. Promotion to this grade can take after two-year maintenance of their role. Lieutenant O-3 Navy ranks — Lieutenant O-3 A Lieutenant is considered a third rank officer.

A lieutenant may assume charge of smaller ships, aircraft squadrons, submarines, or ships. Lieutenant Commander O-4 Navy Ranks — Lieutenant Commander O-4 A Navy lieutenant commander, considered a fourth rank junior officer, serves primarily as a Department Head or Executive Officer on a ship, aircraft squadron, or submarine. Other potential assignments include Commanding Officer of a Minesweeper or Patrol Craft. Commander O-5 Navy Ranks — Commander O-5 Commander is the fifth rank Senior Officer.

Navy Admirals Rear Admiral Lower Half O-7 Navy Ranks — Rear Admiral Lower Half O-7 A Rear Admiral Lower Half holds one-star and is the first of the Flag ranks.

While at sea, the O7 commands an Amphibious Group, Carrier-Cruiser Group, Carrier, or Expeditionary Strike Group. Other assignments include serving as deputies to larger commands. Rear Admiral Upper Half O-8 Rear Admiral How do Navy rates work? Half O-8 A Rear Admiral Upper Half holds two stars.

How do Navy rates work?

They may also work as deputies to larger commands. How do Navy rates work?

How do Navy rates work?

Admiral O-9 A Vice Admiral holds three stars. Admiral O-10 Navy ranks — Vice Admiral O-9 An Admiral holds four stars and is the most senior Flag Rank.

An Admiral can serve as Commander of Regional Commands, Joint Commands, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs Staff, and Chief of Naval Operations. You now know that Navy Corps Rank is a military rank obtained by joining the Navy and serving for at least eight years, or by being appointed by another Navy-affiliated organization like the Naval Academy.

Contact us

Find us at the office

Canzona- Dimeco street no. 37, 78300 Cayenne, French Guiana

Give us a ring

Ronzell Dupere
+94 603 665 727
Mon - Fri, 9:00-20:00

Write us